MACLEA Holding Annual Scholarship and Awards Ceremony

BOSTON — The Massachusetts Association Of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators is pleased to announce that it will hold the MACLEA Annual Scholarship and Awards Ceremony on Jan. 6, 2023 at Boston College. 

The Massachusetts Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators will once again present awards to Campus Law Enforcement Commanders, Officers, Security Officers and Dispatchers from across Massachusetts, and scholarships to the children of MACLEA Members.

MACLEA would like to congratulate the scholarship and award recipients who will be honored at the ceremony.

John M. King Scholarship for Advancement and Education:

  • Casey McCauley — UMass Lowell — Daughter of Deputy Chief Mary McCauley — Tufts University Police Department
  • Emma Foyle — University of North Carolina — Daughter of Captain Michael Foyle — Westfield State University
  • Riley Rushton — UMass Dartmouth — Daughter of Chief Matthew Rushton — Brandeis University
  • Emma Bedard — Endicott College — Daughter of Officer Jonathan Bedard-Endicott College
  1. Joseph Griffin Award for Administrative Excellence

The award recognizes strong leadership skills demonstrated by successful transition to higher rank and authority and a strong devotion to campus law enforcement and the community they serve. The nominee must be the rank of captain or above. 

  • Chief Ernest Leffler (retired) — Bentley University

Ralph Avery Leadership Development Award

The award recognizes a campus law enforcement and public safety leader who identifies emerging leaders and embraces the ideals of leadership development and mentorship in the furtherance of the profession.

  • Chief Edgar Rodriquez — Wentworth Institute of Technology

Life Saving Award

The award recognizes an officer(s) who while on duty or off duty went above and beyond their law enforcement responsibilities in rendering care to a citizen or a member of their agency in need of medical attention; or recognizes officers who have been able to demonstrate that their CPR/First Responder training was beneficial in saving a life.

  • Officer Ryan Cassidy & Officer Samantha Duran — UMASS Lowell Police Department
  • Officer Peter Trachtenberg and Sergeant Brian Delaney — MIT Police Department
  • Sgt. William Boulter — MIT Police Department
  • Officer Corey McGrath — MIT Police Department
  • Sgt. James Kimble, Sgt. David Morrow, Officer Scott Klotzbeecher, Officer Brandon Donahue, Dispatcher Mark Whitaker and Dispatcher Cory Mahoney — College of Holy Cross Police Department
  • Officers Kevin Gaudette, Marjeta Skenderi, Matthew Mahota and Security Officer Bledi Demirazi — Worcester State University Police

Sean Collier Award

The award recognizes a strong commitment to the community, the development of community policing programs, and community relationship building and the development of strong partnerships. 

  • Officer Jeffrey Connors and Officer William Emmons — UMass Lowell Police Department
  • Officer Donald Miller — MIT Police Department
  • Officer Edward Gilfoy — Lasell University Police Department
  • Officers Kevin Carrigan and Nashley Gonzalez — Babson College Police Department

Exemplary Service Award

The award will be presented to an individual or individuals who demonstrate exemplary service to their department, institution or their local campus community. Nominees’ performance should reflect a high level of professional commitment to the values, standards, programs or services provided by the department.

  • Sgt. Travis Rixford and Sgt. Anthony DiSchino, Officer John Vickery, Security Officer James Ardizzoni, and Dispatcher Michael Amrock — Bentley University Police Department

Heroic Action Award

The award recognizes someone who acts to help another with no thought to their own personal safety, someone who voluntarily leaves a point of safety to assume life risk to save or attempt to save the life of another, or someone who comes to the aid of another and provides lifesaving skills.

  • Officer Carlos Camacho — Bentley University Police Department

Outstanding Personal Contribution to Campus Public Safety by an Individual

The award recognizes willingness to take on additional duties in addition to their current role, the development of innovative crime prevention techniques in an effort to provide a safe environment for the campus community, or the development of a proactive approach to address current issues affecting students.

  • Sgt. Greg Gallagher, Sgt. Wayne Cunningham, and Captain Robert Manning — Lasell University Police Department